Rajasthan BJP – Leadership


Posted On: September 17, 2013

Leadership of Rajasthan BJP:

Bharatiya Janata Party was formed in the year 1980 as the successor of Bharatiya Jana Sangh. The first government formed by BJP in Rajasthan was under Late Shri. Bhairon Singh Shekhawat. He served as the Chief Minister from the year 1977 to 1980, 1990 – 1992 and from 1993 – 1998. In the year 2002 he became the Vice President of India and the ex- officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha. Following Shri. Shekhwat was Smt. Vasundhara Raje who became the first woman Chief Minister of Rajasthan in the year 2003. For the first time she joined the BJP Party Presidents’ list in the year 2002. And now she is serving her second round as the Rajasthan BJP President. More information about BJP that formed government in Rajasthan along with BJP Rajasthan photos can be found at the BJP website.

The chronological list of Rajasthan Bharatiya Janata Party Presidents is as follows:





Shri. Jagdish Prasad Mathur 10 April 1980 to 1981


Shri. Hari Shankar Bhabhda 1981 to January 1986


Shri. Bhanwarlal Sharma January 1986 to December 1988


Shri. Lalit Kishore Chaturvedi December 1988 to July 1989


Shri. Bhanwarlal Sharma July 1988 to March 1989


Shri. Ramdas Agarwal March 1990 to 18 December 1997


Shri. Raghuveer Singh Kaushal 18 December 1997 to 26 May 1999


Shri. Gulab Chand Kataria 26 May 1999 to 17 June 2000


Shri. Bhanwarlal Sharma 17 June 2000 to 14 November 2002


Smt. Vasundhara Raje Scindia 14 November 2002 to 14 December 2003


Shri. Lalit Kishore Chaturvedi 14 December 2003 to 7 February 2006


Dr. Mahesh Chandra Sharma 7 February 2006 to 7 January 2008


Shri. Om Prakash Mathur 7 January 2008 to 13 July 2009


Dr. Arun Chaturvedi 13 July 2009 to 2013


Smt. Vasundhara Raje Scindia February 2013 to present

Rajasthan Politics: The political front of Rajasthan is basically dominated by BJP and Indian National Congress. Currently the government is held by Congress with Shri. Ashok Gehlot as the Chief Minister of Rajasthan. The most prominent leader of BJP has been Late Shri. Bhairon Singh Shekhawat and for Congress it has been Late Shri. Mohan Lal Sukhadia.

BJP has formed government in the state under the leadership of Late Shri. Shekawat and Smt. Vasundhara Raje. The tenures served by Late Shri. Bhairon Singh Shekhwat were termed as the diamond phase for Rajasthan as he led the state to rapid development. He had introduced Rajasthan as a treasure for heritage, desert, rural and wildlife tourism. He was succeeded by Smt. Raje who became the first woman Chief Minister of Rajasthan in the year 2003 – 2008. Under Smt. Vasundhara Raje, the state improved and continued on the path of growth. She is best known for her work towards improving education, position of women and developing infrastructure and the beauty of the state such that Rajasthan once again found its rightful place amongst the top must see historic tourist spots.